Frustration on Animal Rescue

 

Bella - 8 Weeks

I’m an animal lover, maybe sometimes to the extreme. My family and I have two yellow labs, a bull terrier and four cats. We are all about the rescuing/shelter form of adoption. Recently though I have just encountered how difficult some of these people make it! My boyfriend just graduated college, all he has been talking about is getting a yellow labrador retriever. After months of hearing him, I finally began doing research on local rescues and shelters. Months go by of contacting them through e-mails, messages, and phone calls, I maybe got three emails back from probably the ten I contacted.  Everyone of those emails was directing me to something else and to submit an application with the $25 fee. But they also informed me that by the time they got to my application the dog might have been adopted or could be no longer available right now but to just submit it anyway. What is wrong with this picture? Here I am trying to do the right thing and help these animals, but the organizations do not HELP YOU! Finally after 6 months of exhausting every outlet and hearing no response, we gave into a local breeder. Of course I feel guilty but what was I left to do? When it comes down to it, those animals need homes as well. I just wish these rescues and shelters made it a bit easier to do the right thing. So we are welcoming our new yellow lab Bella into the family.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Maria Simone
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 20:21:37

    What a cutie pie! We have a black lab named Bella 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment